Saslong Classic Club / Gardena - Gröden
Str. Dursan, 106    |    I - 39047 St. Cristina
Tel. +39 0471 793450
codice destinatario: MJ1OYNU
VAT Reg No: IT01657370217


Bennett also grabs the DOLOMITES Val Gardena Südtirol Ski Trophy


With his triumph in the downhill, surprise man Bryce Bennett crowned himself winner of the special prize DOLOMITES Val Gardena Südtirol Ski Trophy. The trophy is awarded to the racer who scores the most World Cup points in the speed events on the Saslong.

Bennett scored 100 points during the Val Gardena/Gröden race week - on par with super-G winner Aleksander Aamodt Kilde. Since in the event of a tie the victory goes to who has the better result in the downhill, the American narrowly beats defending champion Kilde and is celebrated as the most successful racer of the 54th Saslong Classic.

Just behind Bennett and Kilde, Beat Feuz finished third in this special classification. The Swiss finished fourth in the super-G and fifth in the downhill, collecting a total of 95 points. Fourth place went to Matthias Mayer - the Austrian also scored 95 points with positions two and 16 at the base of the Sassolungo/Langkofel mountain.

Paris best local skier
The best Italian athlete of the Val Gardena race week was Dominik Paris, who finished fifth in the DOLOMITES Val Gardena South Tyrol Ski Trophy. The powerhouse from Val d’Ultimo/Ultental ended up in the top field in both speed events collecting a total of 90 points after both super-G and downhill.

As the winner of the DOLOMITES Val Gardena Südtirol Ski Trophy, Bryce Bennett can look forward to an original 3D wooden bust, as well as extra prize money of Euros 5,000 and a short vacation. The idea of the special prize was developed by the organizing committee of the Saslong Classic in cooperation with DOLOMITES Val Gardena Marketing. The original 3D wooden bust of the American will now be on public display in the "Hall of Fame" at the Saslonch Hut.

DOLOMITES Val Gardena Südtirol Ski Trophy - Final standings after super-G and downhill:
1st Bryce Bennett (USA) 100 points
2nd Aleksander Aamodt Kilde (NOR) 100
3rd Beat Feuz (SUI) 95
4th Matthias Mayer (AUT) 95
5th Dominik Paris (ITA) 90